Belated Sugar Bowl: Week of 5/4/13

As I mentioned in my last post, I recently graduated from college and moved out of my place in Orlando. Currently, I’m living with my aunt in Columbia, SC, and with any luck I’ll find myself settled into Winston-Salem, NC, in the coming weeks.

Although I would usually consider myself pretty laid-back, this feeling of not being in school or employed is making me feel extremely restless. I feel like I’m caught in limbo right now, and while my friends and family are encouraging me to take it easy for a while, I can’t help but plunge into looking for a job right away. I just want to start my new life as soon as possible so that I can start a new social life (leaving all of my friends behind in Orlando was pretty traumatic. I spent most of my going-away party sobbing uncontrollably, locked in my friend’s room like a freak).

In light of all of that, I was still able to stay (somewhat) in touch with the blog-o-sphere. I’ve listed the highlights below. I promise that this week I won’t be late!

  • I actually hate scary movies, but this list of the most beautiful vampire films has me intrigued. I think that it’s easier for me to appreciate a horror movie that’s “artistic” in lieu of being a gory mess (or a tacky romance).
  • As someone who studied shame in the context of affect theory for her honors thesis, anything I find about women and shame instantly piques my interest (and for that I am not ashamed!). The relationship between body image and shame is particularly important, I think, in that our culture is one that makes it impossible for women to “win.”
  • I’ll admit, I used to think homeschooled kids were the products of hyper-religious parents who outlawed TV in the house. But when you consider the poor quality of education in some parts of the country, homeschooling seems like the only sensible option—even if it still prevents kids from completely escaping the racism and classism of their communities.
  • The #followateen hashtag seems pretty funny while the #followanadult backlash is really just kind of meaningless to me. I would argue that following a “teen” is akin to remembering your own issues growing up without the ability to express your grievances online, rather than being utterly condescending towards teenagers (okay, I’ll admit it, the trend is still awfully patronizing). Where’s the humor in #followanadult? “My adult went out and bought beer today”? “My adult built his infant son a crib today”? In any case, The New Inquiry is all about analyzing the implications of surveillance as evidenced by the aforementioned Twitter trend.
  • I’ve actually come across several discussions online about xoJane and its tendency to “overshare.” Yet, is this trend not just the result of us women who read Sylvia Plath in high school? At what point does “confessional” become oversharing? And why should anyone care?
  • As someone who is all about the new sincerity movement, I really appreciated The New Inquiry’s post about a contemporary Russian poet struggling to find balance between sentimentality and politics. I used to think the two were separate; one was unfeeling and inflexible and one was pliable, raw, and uncomfortably real. However, the dichotomy between the two is much more complex than that. In any case, I love the implications of new sincerity and I want to pursue more reading material that falls under that category (well, without drifting into melodrama, which is a difficult thing to do, I think).
  • The theme of this Sugar Bowl should be “surveillance and films.” Plus, I’m just a sucker for color palettes. Deep down inside I think that I always wanted to be a designer of some sort, given my history with art and my middle school obsession with Adobe Photoshop. I’m also the kind of person who is very stubborn about taste regarding certain things—I wear yoga pants and ratty t-shirts everyday but don’t you dare criticize my wedding board on Pinterest.
  • Like I said, I’m really into posts about surveillance and technology this week. Maybe all of the post-graduation stress is making me paranoid.
  • Reading about Netflix’s failure to make consumers happy has really gotten me thinking: assuming the Netflix staff is made up of experts who are trying to cater to the largest chunk of their audience, studying the taste profiles of large demographics, is it fair to say that they’re “selling out” by providing a few popular films instead of a lot of niche films (which, by the way, sort of baffles me—Netflix has loads of niche films, in my opinion)? For instance, I have a friend who grumbles that Netflix has a shoddy Anime selection. I told him to get a Crunchyroll account. Netflix’s problem is that so many people are using it now that “nichers” (yes, I made that word up, go away) will have to look elsewhere to stream their content. As the post points out, the cost of so many subscriptions could rival the cost of cable anyway—but do people really watch that much TV?
  • I’ve always thought that poetry is a guaranteed way to make absolutely no money and gain almost no recognition, which is why I love it so much. But as this list demonstrates, there are some poems that have actually been adapted into movies (I’m especially psyched about that Lady Lazarus movie–now there’s something I would pay to stream!).
  • To wrap up this stressful week (and tedious blog post), I have to recommend reading an analysis of the classic question: does money buy happiness? I would hope not (though money does buy education, and education is awesome!).

I’ll try to update a few times this week and get back into the swing of things. I even have dozens of vintage clip art, saved from the past two weeks, for the purpose of making my blog posts seem sophisticated again!

2 thoughts on “Belated Sugar Bowl: Week of 5/4/13

  1. As a former (!) advertising student, I am especially drawn to the color palette breakdowns! I think I like Lincoln and Pulp Fiction the best, but I keep saying that about all of them, so who knows? Hope all is well in South Carolina – miss you already!

Leave a Reply

