Sugar Bowl: Week of 4/20/13

I really hate the word (phrase?) “roundup.” It reminds me of Toy Story 2. Although TS2 is a good movie, that damn “Woody’s Roundup” song still gets stuck in my head to this day, and I probably haven’t even seen the movie since the third Toy Story film was released. In any case, I’ve chosen not to use the word “roundup” for my link list (and “link list” sounds too boring). Instead, I’m using a kind of stupid, albeit non-irritating-song related, title for my occasional (weekly? bi-weekly? only time will tell) link lists: sugar bowl.

The embarrassing idea behind this title is the thinking that sugar is added to a variety of almost all drinks—coffee and tea in particular. Everyone has their own preference towards this ritual, and the spoonful, pinch, or dozens of packets of sugar we add to our morning drinks seem to add just that little extra something to our daily experience. I feel like link lists do the same thing—everyone has their own taste in reading material, and a good blog or two can just give our day some extra sweetness.

This whole metaphor falls on its face when considering that many people take their drinks without any sugar added. Maybe I should have thought this through a little better…

  • Heads-up if you don’t have a New York Times subscription: non-subscribers are only allotted ten free article viewings a month. In any case, if you are a subscriber (or just don’t care), check out this post in which Ben Dolnick confesses his habit of hoarding the “stupid writer tricks” he gleaned from interviews with famous authors.
  • This is a re-post of an old essay on The Raptitude (a favorite blog of mine) but I’m glad that Thought Catalog decided to feature it. David Cain discusses commitment and obligation and how he realized that sometimes it’s okay to break up with your responsibilities in order to free up time and grow (I’m a sucker for anything critical of the “GTD” mentality).  
  • Do you fall into the category of “e-books mark the dying heart of literature” or “e-books are kind neat”? If you belong to the latter, Flavorwire has published a short list about where e-books are headed and how many are becoming more interactive and easy for people to obtain.
  • The Ethics of Disaster Photography in the Age of Social Media.” I think the title speaks for itself in light of recent events, but it certain provides some food for thought.
  • I was pleased to see some of my favorite movies (such as The Ref and Tommy Boy) made Flavorwire’s list of the best insults in film.
  • I loved this post on feminist-blog Eat The Damn Cake so much that I even posted it to my Facebook wall for all of my family and friends. The Dove Beauty Campaign seems to have good intentions (well, besides to make money), but its ads still place the blame on women for feeling insecure about their bodies.
  • Dr. Nerdlove explains how misogyny and sexism hurt men too and how the “threat” to masculinity is not women and their success, but instead the outdated, strict social constructs that men are expected to adhere to.
  • I’ll admit it—I had no idea that adult illiteracy in France is an issue until I saw this clever ad on Flavorwire (translated into English). I know that I’m a silly INFP Idealist, but I hope that one day all of the world’s people can be given the opportunity to learn how to read, regardless of where they live.
  • Speaking of reading, I’m a huge Jean Rhys fan (I wrote my Honors thesis on Wide Sargasso Sea) and I really liked this post on The Paris Review, written by Chloe Pantazi, who aims to draw parallels between her own detached, wandering life and Rhys’s. I’m not very familiar with any of the locations named, but they sound beautiful—in that grey, lost-love sort of way that is so Rhys.
  • Ah, I’m definitely looking forward to grad school, especially after reading  “7 Things Not To Say To A Graduate Student.” Let the patronizing begin!
  • The Lingerie Lesbian published a post about lingerie trends/designs in different parts of the world, including France, the U.S., the U.K., Japan, and China. I wish I could sample all of the featured delicates (how’s that for cultured?)!
  • Maybe this belongs on my Amazon Wish List and not my Sugar Bowl, but I want this book about Sylvia Plath’s internship at a fashion magazine in New York so damn bad, I could cry. WWD features a brief, but awesome, interview with its author.
  • Finally, if you’re a Daft Punk fan, I highly encourage you to listen to their first single in years, titled “Get Lucky” featuring Pharrell Williams. It’s less techno-y than a lot of their older stuff, but I love how this single take a sort-of R&B song (I’m bad with music genres, okay?) and gives it a signature Daft Punk twist.

And that’s it for this week’s Sugar Bowl (I’m starting to feel like this title is more stupid than I had bargained for). I have more of my “weird cultural commentary and stuff” posts to come soon!

Leave a Reply

